Monday, 29 October 2012

Justice (Live DJ Set) @ Sirius XM Studios (2012.10.19 - New York City)

There is no doubt about Justice being a worldwide phenomenon, and rightfully so. And indeed, most of us are acquainted with their most recent work, including their latest album (2011) Audio, Video, Disco, which followed Cross (2007). 

But who are they and when they did they actually start? Justice actually formed in 2003 and is composed of the Parisians duo Gaspard Auge (aka 'The Moustache') and Xavier de Rosnay (aka 'The China'). Their first collaboration paid tribute to The Buggles, after which they handed Pedro Winter (aka Busy P - the owner of Ed Banger Records) a bedroom-recorded reworking of Simian's 'Never Be Alone', that ended up being playlisted by Erol Alkan, Tiga, 2 Many DJ's and Ivan Smagghe and started a little fad for pogoing across European clubs. 

In 2004 DJ Hell's International Deejay Gigolos put it out again with Hell remix on the B-side to great success. With eyes on Justice, they moved onto remixes (N*E*R*D*, DFA 1979, Fatboy Slim, Soulwax, Daft Punk, etc.). In 2005 they released their second EP 'Waters of Nazareth', which was spun by Laurent Garnier, Trevor Jackson and Tiefschwarz. Ever since, their 'legend' grows each year wider and bigger with Justice now headlining any type of event they take part in.

01. ZZT - Partys Over Los Angeles
02. Boys Noize - XTC
03. The Hacker - Shockwave (Gesaffelstein Remix)
04. Destructo - Technology
05. The Chemical Brothers - Morning Lemon
06. Justice - Helix (with Civilization Accapella intro/outro)
07. Grant Phabao - Tub
08. Justice - D.A.N.C.E. (Live Version)
09. Junior Senior - Move Your Feet
10. Surkin - Ultra Light
11. Justice - Stress
12. Boney M - Rasputin
13. Nicky Romero - Generation 303
14. The Chemical Brothers - Block Rocking Beats
15. Billy Squier - The Big Beat
16. Gesaffelstein - Opr
17. Boys Noize - What You Want
18. SebastiAn - Holloback
19. John Dahlback - Take This Thing Back (Jacques Lu Cont Remix)
20. T Rex - 20th Century Boy
21. Fred Flake & Alan Braxe - Intro
22. Wham! - Wham Rap
23. Justice - Audio, Video, Disco
24. Michael Sembello - She's a Maniac

No comments:

Post a Comment